Empire Of The Sun

Artist: Empire Of The Sun
Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to MySpace post to StumbleUpon post to Google Buzz Share with Friend

Taking their name from the J.G. Ballard novel that became a 1987 Steven Spielberg film, Australia's larger-than-life electro-glam-pop duo Empire of the Sun feature the Sleepy Jackson's Luke Steele and Pnau's Nick Littlemore.

Steele had previously worked with Pnau on "With You Forever," a track from the band's 2007 self-titled third album, and the pair enjoyed collaborating so much that they started their own project, drawing inspiration from the likes of Phoenix and Daft Punk.

In fall 2008, Empire of the Sun released the debut album Walking on a Dream, which the musicians described as "a spiritual road movie."

Debut single "Walking on a Dream" became a huge hit in Australia, reaching the top 10 and going Platinum. Their follow-up single "We Are the People" went top 20 in the UK and also achieved Gold certificiation in Australia. Both songs became huge radio hits and appealed to dance, rock, pop, electro and chillout fans universally. "Standing on the Shore" and "Without You" have also enjoyed extensive radio play.

The group polled fourth in The BBC Sound of 2009 poll, alongside artists like Lady Gaga and Florence & The Machine.


Music By Empire Of The Sun

Songs Albums

Empire Of The Sun Features

Empire of the Sun take on America
Empire of the Sun go global
2010 APRA Award winners

Leave a Comment

You Must be Logged in to add a comment. Or Register Here

If you want to embed a youtube video, you can just write [youtube]videoid[/youtube]


    • +FAVS